Welcome reception brunch @ Liliyot restaurant


back to welcome page

When: Sunday afternoon, 3:00 pm
Where: Rechov Weizmann, Tel Aviv
WWW: www.liliyot.co.il/eng/liliyot/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=59&Itemid=78
Who: Alan, the CEO of Liliyot spoke for a few minutes about Liliyot’s Social Action Project.

Liliyot employs 15 at-risk youth who have dropped out of school. They work in the kitchen alongside 10 adult chefs. The plan is to give these at-risk youth a respectable job so they can straighten out their lives. While this is extremely noble (and recommended) I have a few points to make.

Having conducted my own work with at-risk youth for the past seven years I have some first-hand experience. Many have substance abuse issues or just simply responsibility and fickleness issues that make it hard for them to hold onto a job. I consider it a “success story” when I meet a teenager that I haven’t seen in a few weeks and I ask him what he’s doing with his life and he tells me about the same job that I heard about the last time I saw him. Liliyot, obviously, tries to weed through the candidates and pick only the top 15 that seem capable and ready to hold a job. Frankly, teenagers on that level are probably able to go back to school. If their old school is no longer an option, I’m sure they can get into another one with that level of responsibility/maturity.

This is in no way a knock at Liliyot; on the contrary, they are doing amazing work. This is just a chance to blog about the need for more action. Comments are welcomed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

